RSS

Threshing Sledge

16 Jul

Isaiah 41:15–Behold, I will make you into a new threshing sledge with sharp teeth; you shall thresh the mountains and beat them small, and make the hills like chaff. 

Many Christians suffer from a low spiritual self-image. We see ourselves as sinners while God sees us as his righteousness. (2nd Cor. 5:21) We think of ourselves as victims when the Bible calls us more than conquerors. (Rms. 8:37) 

Believing we’re less than we really are may seem humble, but it only keeps us from serving God effectively. How can we do great things for him when we see ourselves as incapable and unworthy? 

Someone once asked me if I worried about encountering demons on the mission field. “No,” I told them, “but I’m pretty sure demons on the mission field worry about encountering me.” And why shouldn’t I believe that? Jesus said, “Behold, I give you the authority to trample on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall by any means hurt you.” (Lk 10:19)

A threshing sledge is a long, wide, flat board, the bottom of which is lined with row after row of hard, sharp teeth. Ancient farmers used to drag it across harvested wheat, to separate the grain from the chaff. In Isaiah 41:15 God uses this image to depict the believer. But we don’t grind out grain; we pulverize the mountains that stand in our way.

Are you facing resistance today? Do you see immovable obstacles before you? Move forward boldly in faith. Through God’s power you can crush anything. God will back you all the way. You are his threshing sledge. 

Today’s prayer: The Bible says, “Let the weak say ‘I am strong,’” so I agree with your word, Lord, today. Through your power I am strong enough to move mountains. Right now, by faith, I remove any hindrance that stands in my way in Jesus’ name. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
