RSS

The God Who Makes Dreams Come True

27 Jul

Psalm 37:4–Delight yourself also in the Lord and he shall give you the desires of your heart.

Psalm 145:19– He will fulfill the desire of them that fear him.

Proverbs 10:24– The desire of the righteous shall be granted him.

At age five I walked into a pet shop with my mom, heard someone greet us, and looked around to find nobody. Imagine my amazement when I saw the big green bird on the counter open its beak and again repeat, “Hello.”

I was smitten. I had to have a pet like that. An animal with the intelligence to speak my language? I was already fascinated by birds, but this? This was way over the top.

I asked mom if we could get one, and she replied “No, parrots are noisy. And messy. How about a nice little parakeet?”

So we got a parakeet. Close, but no cigar. The dream had already been born in my heart: one day I’d have my very own big, green, noisy-messy, talking bird.

Unfulfilled dreams can fade with time, and eventually my childhood longing diminished–until two decades later when I was serving as a youth minister in Florida. A lady in our church called telling me how she’d caught a feral parrot in their front yard. Since I had a reputation for being knowledgeable about birds, could I possibly drop by and identify it?

It turned out to be a blue-fronted Amazon; very similar to that first talking bird I’d seen as a boy. Again, I was thunderstruck with the desire to own such a pet. But they were expensive, and I was a newlywed, just starting out on a tight budget.

The lady called again a couple weeks later complaining that the parrot was a bother. Would I like to have it?

“Yes please!” And that parrot soon became my best friend.

It’s interesting to me that even though I’d forgotten all about that little dream, God had not. Nowadays parrots are one of my life-passions. I breed them as a hobby/side-business and have shipped hand-raised birds all over the US. In other words, my childhood dream became a dream-come-true.

It was just a bird. A child’s wish. No big deal. And yet it was a big deal to God. He remembered that little longing past the time I’d forgotten about it, and manipulated events to make that wish come true. But that’s how he rolls isn’t it? He’s the God of dreams.

Do you have unfulfilled longings today? You may have big dreams, but they’re not too big for God. You may have small dreams, but they’re not too small for him to care about. The fact is, God loves you and cares about every single facet of your life. And you can trust him to be the God who makes your dreams come true. 

 Today’s prayer: Father, I have a dream. And though it seems impossible, it’s not impossible for you. I trust you to move in my life, Lord, to turn this dream into reality. You’re the God who makes dreams come true.

From David’s new devotional “Faith Pumper,” due out on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other fine retailers next week.

Image

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “The God Who Makes Dreams Come True

    • tropikbird

      October 24, 2013 at 10:38 am

      Yes! Absolutely!

       

Leave a Reply

 
